Kilbonane National School is under the patronage of the Catholic Bishop of Cork and Ross. The Board of Management is elected every 4 years and is responsible for the direct governance of the school. The Board is comprised of:

  1. Two direct nominees of the patron
  2. Two parents of children enrolled in the school (one mother and one father) elected by the parents
  3. The principal
  4. One other teacher elected by the teaching staff
  5. Two extra members agreed by the representatives of the patron, teachers and parents


Members of the current Board of Management 2019-23 are:

  • Denis Healy – Patron’s Nominee and Chairperson
  • Canon Bernard Donovan – Patron’s Nominee
  • Cathal Brophy – Secretary and Principal
  • Laura MacMahon – Recording Secretary and Teachers’ Nominee
  • Anne Bruen – Parents’ Nominee
  • Adrian Cullinane – Parents’ Nominee 
  • Niamh Lyons – Community Nominee
  • Claire Kavanagh – Treasurer and Community Nominee

Refer to the Governance Manual Sections 8 & 9 for more information.